The (Other) End of the Internet

The last stop on the information superhighway. All traffic must exit in 500 feet.
«I respect my parents more every day
No more electronic spaghetti »


Can you get paid for posting links on google?

Welcome back!

The other day my sister emailed me a couple of links and asked me to take a look at them and tell her if I thought the money-making system they were talking about was worth doing.

The websites sent to me were

http://www.world-jobs-news.com/finance/?t202id=79524&t202kw=work%20for%20google

and

http://googlecash-secret2.info/?t202id=4695&t202kw=

The websites both talk about being able to make anywhere from $3,000 to $5,000 to $9,000 a month by posting links on Google.

My gut reaction was that Google has spider programs to gather links and if you go to google.com and manually add a link to their search engine there is no payment involved. Never mind the fact that the big G talks a lot about how paid links are a Bad Thing™ and they provide a link to a form where the general public can report paid links.

This got me curious enough to examine both sites a little closer. Here’s a partial list of what I found.

1) Both the pages are geared to look like blog entries, but there is no way to contact the author OR any of the people posting those glowing comments. There is also no way to post a comment of your own; the one that has what LOOKS like a “Post your comment” button actually just has TEXT that says “Post a comment”… clicking it does nothing.

2) Both pages show pictures of the checks these people have received. THE SAME CHECK appears on BOTH pages. Two different people both got the same check? I don’t think so.

3) One page shows two different check pictures. If you look at the numbers along the bottom of the checks, then compare them to your own checks, the first number should be a routing number for that bank. The second number should be a check number (and match the check number at the top of the check) and the third number is the account number. These checks have two different routing numbers (meaning they’re from two different banks - and I’m guessing neither is a valid routing number), and the check number doesn’t match what’s at the top of the check on either picture. Plus, why would the guy block out his name on
one check, but not the other?

4) One page tells you it costs $1.87 while the other says $1.95. NEITHER page mentions that filling out the form they’re talking about means you agree to a $69/month charge. I can’t honestly say what else is hidden in that Terms Of Service agreement; I stopped reading when I found the hidden $69 charge.

These people have too much to hide for my tastes. If it was a legitimate deal then there’d be a way to contact the page author with your questions, in my opinion.

In short, I wouldn’t touch this with a ten foot pole.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!

3 Comments

  1. Ed on 19.06.2009 at 15:05 (Reply)

    Oh it’s a scam alright. They’re feeding people a line of BS in order to trap them into a recurring membership charge that will be bloody hell to get turned off.

    I ran into some stuff very similar to this a while back. The gist of it is that there are probably a hundred or more variations on this same theme. If you look at some of the posts on blogbuzz.net a few months back you’ll find several of them mentioned.

  2. Bertholemeuw on 20.06.2009 at 02:30 (Reply)

    So many scams recently

  3. Vicky Wohnung on 20.06.2009 at 11:06 (Reply)

    Hi, I have stumbled across such things many times before. Its a trap and you should be cautious. These things come like waves and soon this scam will be a thing of the past again (until the next scam comes around :-)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.